Home » News » ISU 33rd Founding Anniversary Celebrated


ISU 33rd Founding Anniversary Celebrated


Together with the different campuses of the University, Isabela State University-Cauayan Campus was one with the celebration of the University’s 33rd year with the theme, “ISU at 33: New Perspective for Continuous Quality Education” held on June 9 – 10, 2011.

Cauayan campus’ pivotal role in the event highlighted the socio-cultural and awards night held at the Campus Gymnasium on June 9 which was well participated by all the campuses showcasing their cultural heritage particularly the Gaddangs, Ilocanos, Ybanags, and the Yogads.

The presentation included displays on the particular culture of the Ybanags as performed by the Ilagan, Cabagan, and San Mariano Campuses, Yogads by the Echague Campus, Gaddangs with Cauayan and Angadanan Campuses, and Ilocanos with Roxas and San Mateo Campuses. University Officials and Echague Campus faculty and staff’s “Nasudi” and Cauayan Campus’ “Tinikling” culminated the cultural presentations.

On the other hand, the night also emphasized individuals who have shared expertise in promoting the University. Awardees were: Saturnino Ocampo Jr. and Emmanuel Y. Angeles, former Chairpersons of the Board of Regents; Allan Peter Cayetano and Manuel Roxas, former Representatives from the House of Senate; Cynthia Villar, of the Lower House; Gumersindo Lasam and Andrew Villacorta, former Members of the Board from the Department of Agriculture; Cecilia Dy and Mila Albano-Mamauag from the Private Sector; Romano Cammayo and William Eustaquio, Faculty Federation Presidents; Noemi Liangco and Juanito Rosini, Alumni Representatives; and, Fedrich Cureg, Joey Tejada, Joamrtin Limson, Christian Lorenzo, Karen Martinez, Anthony Baldesancho, and Norberto Tadeo, former Student Regents.

Cauayan Campus also recognized its faculty members who stand out in the fields of Research and Extension where Lorelei Tabagao, Flor Quinto and Mila Antalan from the Institute of Teacher Education grabbed Best in Research Award for 2010 and Dr. Mary Jane S. Bitanga, Dean of the College of Computing and Information Technology for Best Extensionist Award in the same year. Service awards were also given to Marlito Domingo, Roman Dulin, Linda Ferrer, Edgar Galapon, Leticia Gano, Antonio Ladia, Amante Mariano, Lolita Quebral, Loida Tapaoan, Frenolia Liel Arano, Lucila Castaneda, Ceferino Espinosa, Marlon Martin, Carol Nuez, Narciso Oficial, Samuel Santos, and Dalmacio Leano for rendering unwavering service to the University for more than ten years.

The night was underscored by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Commissioner Dr. William C. Medrano. Also present were the University Officials Headed by University President Dr. Romeo R. Quilang and Vice Presidents for Finance, Academic Affairs, and Research, Development, Extension, and Training Dr. Richard Ramirez, Dr. Emerenciana Claravall, and Dr. Edmundo Gumpal.

Tags: , , , ,


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment